Indie Games, where the heart and soul is!

Bluddy Geek Culture: Neckropchips and Wrecking It!


By: Master Blud

Well, I had pretty long day.   Went to the River Street Festival, listened to bands playing, seeing kids getting their face painted, and pony rides at $5 a pop.  There was something else going beneath all the festivities.  Sidewalk chalk, hundreds of squares along the sidewalk were chalked together from locals in competition.  Some were just doing it just for fun.  But one in particular caught my eye.  It was the character from the upcoming movie “Wreck-it Ralph” from Disney/Pixar on the sidewalk.  I saw it out of the corner of my eye.  I was like “OMG it’s Wreck-it Ralph”……yes I said it like that.  Anywho, the Pixel Art sidewalk masterpiece was done by Rich Ruotolo of ShearMadness.  Accompanying the lovely pixel art is someone who we know and love.  Son of Ruch Ruotolo, chalked one hek of a Robin from Teen Titans.

Later, it became hard to find anything of my interest, then I saw these two people sitting in a booth under a little tent.   The booth did look very lone, lacking attention.  But for some reason, there was just a glimmer of hope coming from this tiny vender.  Both persons, Juan Ramos and Amy Pollicino who had a collection of various artworks.  Juans use of copper for jewelry was astounding.  But only one caught my attention, it was a microchip from an old computer part.  I tried to look up what it was from, all I could find is something from a PDF.  It was just a broken little piece, about the size of a memory stick for a PSP.  It had a conductor on it, and was the color red.   The chip was wrapped in copper and made me just get all giddy to buy it.  I asked him the price, $10 Juan had said.  I looked in my wallet, there was $10 in there, along with some other money that I uselessly spent my money on later that day.  But this “Neckropchip” made my day.  I needed something that represented me hanging from my neck besides COG Tags from Gears of War.  Those things are heavy.  If you are interested in learning more about the work of Amy and Juan, you can give them a contact “pollicinoa@yahoo.com“.

But anyways, I had a pretty awesome day checking out some pretty cool things, but only these few people grabbed my attention.  Thank you Rich, Juan and Amy for leaving an impression on me.  By the way Amy, thank you for the balloon flower.

2 responses

  1. Very awesome article! Loving the neckrochip 😀

    June 16, 2012 at 10:41 pm

  2. It’s always the little things that make an awesome day.

    June 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Start or join the discussion!

