Indie Games, where the heart and soul is!

Sega Vintage Collection: Alex Kidd & Co. Review


Like punching blocks for now reason? Do you like throwing ninja stars? Do you like taking your crotch rocket out for a drive?  Well if you answered yes to all of those questions, you might be in luck.  This Sega Vintage Collection comes with three titles, Alex Kidd in Miracle World, Super Hang-on, and The Revenge of Shinobi.  2 of these titles I have actually played when I was younger.  One of them remained unplayed.

Alex Kidd, is a platformer, that’s just about it.  Super Hang-on is sort of like Road Rash (racing game), without the fancy new 16bit graphics and police.  The Revenge of Shinobi, as classic as always, is an action/platformer.  All of these titles have variety in the pack, and have a wider replay value than the previous Monster World Collection, which was all platformers.  Don’t get me wrong, I love platformers, but when it is basically the same game throughout, I don’t see the variety.

The gameplay in Alex Kidd was difficult, as one who hasn’t played the previous.  I can say that the gameplay was lacking any real goal.  There wasn’t much to what was going on.  You punched blocks, and avoided enemies.  Even when trying to avoid the enemies, some you can’t hit and some you can.  It was very hard to tell what I was supposed to do.  Super Hang-on had a pretty spot gameplay.  The menus confused the crap out of me,but  the controls were very comfortable.  There wasn’t a moment where I didn’t have fun with Super Hang-on.  Now for the gameplay of Shinobi.  I STILL SUCK AT THIS GAME.  I don’t know what it is, I can’t tell if it’s the controls or just me.  Shinobi is a RAGE QUIT title.  Shinobi still haunts my dreams from my childhood.  Most likely, the game is better suited for those perfectionist gamers who have to be good at the game, because everyone else can’t.

Alex Kidd’s soundtrack and effects felt a bit annoying, almost as annoying as the actual gameplay itself.  Super Hang-on had a great soundtrack, and wonderful 16bit sound effects.  It might just be my love for Road Rash, but this is the closest thing you will get to Road Rash, seeing as EA won’t release it on XBLA.  It’s just like how I want Bubsy, but everyone else doesn’t.  Finally, Shinobi.  I can’t complain about the music in this one, or the effects.  I only complain about the gameplay, seeing as even if this game were silent, I wouldn’t notice there being no soundtrack at all.  This would be due to the game that has enraged me.

Final thoughts:

I honestly like this collection than the previous stated Monster World Collection.  But these 2 collections still lack an interest.  It may have come straight from the Game Disc of the Sega Collection.  Some of these games people either forgot about them, or they really didn’t have that much of an audience.  The variety in this collection makes it more of a buy.  Altogether, Sega Vintage Collection: Alex Kidd & Co. get’s a 4.5 out of 5.  I was only annoyed at Shinobi, but brushed it off with a nice bike ride in Super Hang-on.  Alex Kidd still confuses me.  Also, there is no trailer for this game, so I will present a video I found on the internet.  Some EMINEM Retro mix.

WARNING: Video NSFW

Start or join the discussion!

