Indie Games, where the heart and soul is!

Indies at First Sight: Lemmy Lizard Vs. The Mecha Eggs and Balloon Guard (Platformer Battle)


Lemmy Lizard Vs. The Mecha Eggs

Ok, so this game.  I don’t know what to really say.  I did not enjoy it.  Surprisingly, it is missing a lot of points of being a platformer.  For one, how can you not shoot when you are jumping?  You are able to shoot at basically all angles, but your character slightly moves with your aim, this made it very frustrating.  Another point, the enemies seemed rather difficult to demolish.  This irritated me, as it took almost 7 hits to kill even the smallest of enemies.  The enemies also get closer and closer with each hit.  The aiming mechanic made it hard to actually aim at the enemy coming your way.  The controls were just as worse, I found myself falling all the time, could be from the floaty controls.  The artwork for scenery was really well done, but the character artwork seemed lackluster.  I am sorry to say, I am extremely disappointed in this one.  Did not feel like a platformer as it is clearly trying to be.  Altogether, I give this game a 2 out of 5.  Wow, that’s horrible (Sad Face).  This game needs the feedback, and as a platformer fanatic, I hope these fixes will come into light.

Balloon Guard

This game is so corny, that I actually had a blast playing it.  This platformer is one of the main reasons why I keep playing these types of game.  I loved the presentation of where the game is based.  You are basically a clown in a circus, and you must save the falling balloons and make it the end.  I felt the level design was crafted very well.  The challenge it gave in the later levels was absolutely acceptable.  The soundtrack was, well.  It plays the ever so popular circus song “Entry of the Gladiators”.  It suited the game just fine, but was rather annoying that it was basically on repeat.  The visuals were not the greatest, but complimented the gameplay.  Everything just felt right in this title.  I would like to point out that this game reminded me of Bubsy on the Sega Genesis.  Mostly the visuals and music were able to pull those memories back in. Altogether, Balloon Guard gets a 4.5 out of 5.  I recommend you pick up this platformer today, it is certainly worth your time.  Upload a few speed runs and you are set to go.

One response

  1. Anonymous

    Thanks for the great review of Ballon Guard. Sorry for the repeating music tracks. Think of them as motivation to complete the level faster 🙂 . Carlson Scientific provided the four music tracks used in the game. They have transcribed 100’s of original late 19th and early 20th century band organ music rolls to mp3. It’s great stuff. I wish I could have used it all!

    Here”s a video of level 1-3 that uses a different audio track:

    March 31, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Start or join the discussion!

