Indie Games, where the heart and soul is!

Indies at First Sight: Hypership Still Out of Control and They Breathe


Note: Click each BoxArt to be brought to MarketLink

Hypership Still Out of Control

Well Hypership is back, by the looks of it, added a new wave to the bunch, which I still have not been able to get myself through all the waves. The game is still tough, the original one on both iOS and Xbox. The waves in the game have been updated visually, the controls seem to be tightened up just a bit, there are more space bees to be had, the asteroids still large and in your way, and a new music track to top it all off. I had fun with original, although I can’t reach the final wave, it takes precision and patience, same goes for this sequel. I have a fascination for retro looking games and Hypership Still Out of Control and most of the games from FunInfused make me pretty damn happy.  I don’t feel like the game is lacking anything, for $1, this sure gives you your monies worth.  Altogether Hypership Still Out of Control gets a 4 out of 5, it still feels like the original, maybe you should get both or just this one.  You would be safer purchasing this one, seeing as it is basically the same game with some add ons and some visual improvement.

They Breathe

Alright, it is about time I talked about this game.  I had repeatedly played this game over and over again.  I can’t seem to get to the very end.  Supposedly the ending has some sort of unlock code to punch into the developer’s website, but I have basically given up on the whole trying to finish the game part.  I can tell you how I feel about the game, so let’s start.  When I start-up the game, I am welcomed by the most beautiful of visuals and a very hypnotic soundtrack.  I had some issues with the controls, as I felt that they were too touchy and need a little fix.  Some points of the game made me frustrated, with too many enemies in my way, and trying to save my froggy brethren.  As you go deeper and deeper, it becomes more difficult to gain air bubbles, and some of the bubbles you are not meant to inhale.  The point of the bubbles is to keep you alive as you descend into the depths of the water.  As I have stated before, I have not made it far enough to see the end, I don’t know if it is me, but at some point, I will pick up the game at a later time.  Altogether this title gets a 3.5 out of 5,  it has its flaws, but the game itself sets a sort of challenge your way, but may be too difficult.  I would recommend there be checkpoints in the game.  When you die, you die for good.  The game drags along, so adding an easier mode would have made me enjoy the game a little better and make up for the lack of controls.

Start or join the discussion!

