Indie Games, where the heart and soul is!

The War of the Worlds XBLA Review


The War of the Worlds

Click this banner to be brought to MarketLink

Review by : Master Blud
Not many games have come from book form. I honestly have not read The War of the Worlds by HG Wells at all. After playing the game, it seems I will likely pick it up in the near future for a good read. It was comforting to know the game had a narrator, even more comforting coming from Patrick Stewart’s voice as the narrator. In this title you play as Arthur, on a mission to seek his fiancee and little brother, while avoiding visual contact with a most brutal alien invasion.

Image from The War of the Worlds

As much as I liked the whole story. I found playing the game probably the most difficult to play as a 2D Platformer. There are some points in the game where it requires dead-on precision, and stealth. There isn’t any fighting involved in the game, all you have to do is keep out of sight and run from the enemy. I am going to be honest with you here in the review, as much as I tried to play this game, I did not finish it. I ended up rage quitting the most I have ever did in any game. The controls seemed stiff and at points unresponsive, make my precision way off.

Image from The War of the Worlds

The visuals and the sound have to be possibly the only fraction of this game that actually had me keep playing. Most gamers like bad games for their art, yes the game can play absolutely awful, but hey, the ambience and visuals are astounding. This was my case, Patrick Stewart, whose voice I grew up on while watching Star Trek, was one of the reasons I kept coming back to the game.

Final Verdict:

As I want to recommend this game as a challenge, it might be even more difficult for those even seeking a challenge. As someone who loves 2D platformers, the controls and gameplay are inexcusably wretched. I can say with my final words that I can give this game a 3 out of 5. Give it a try, if you get the knack of it, come tell me how you did it.

Start or join the discussion!

