Indie Games, where the heart and soul is!

Indies at First Sight: Rainbow Rapture and Paddle Wars. These are not the Clones you’re looking for.


Click each BoxArt to be brought the MarketLink
Rainbow Rapture:
Rainbow Rapture
Ok so I heard some reviews about this game being somewhat of a comparison the Tiny Wings. I honestly haven’t played the title. I try to avoid games with birds in them. I did however watch some videos on the game, wasn’t very pleased with Tiny Birds appeal. So I booted up the Rainbow Rapture, it basically plays fun at the whole end of the world rapture sort of deal. You kill humans, get power ups for speed, and shoot rainbows out of your ass. I found it hilarious to play the game. I don’t know if I would feel the same way about Tiny Wings if I ever get to play it. There isn’t much to Rainbow Rapture, you just slope down a hill and try to get as high as you can, and kill as many humans as you can. Rainbow Rapture gets a 4 out of 5, needed a little more visual work, getting too high in the sky seemed ugly, other than that, I had fun.

Paddle Wars:
Paddle Wars
At first I just thought this game was a breakout clone. It certainly wasn’t. It isn’t the prettiest of the indie games, but that shouldn’t stop you from playing it. So I entered the game just thinking it was just your typical breakout clone, first few times I just didn’t get it. Paddle Wars doesn’t to explain things all the way when you start up the game. Most people like myself, feel that the indie games should have more of an in game tutorial as you start playing the game. I almost lost interest in this title, as I just felt the paddle was moving too slow for my taste. I stuck it out and played the game, and had found a there is an ability menu where I can upgrade as I level up. When the hell did I level up? I noticed then a EXP Bar up at the upper left hand corner, this pleased me and was on my way to blast through levels. The game had a mixture of the breakout game and RPG elements. Paddle Wars gets a 4 out of 5.

Start or join the discussion!

