Indie Games, where the heart and soul is!

Indies at First Sight: Dragons Vs. Spaceships


Click each BoxArt to be brought to MarketLink
Dragons Vs. Spaceships
Dragons vs Spaceships
I was super excited to play this game on the release day, but it seems some of my views slightly changed as I endured the first level. I had a problem with controls, as they felt a little stiff while trying to guide my dragon away from danger, but this didn’t seem to be the problem, it seems there was a collision detection problem with oncoming bullets and enemies. I continued play the first level and came to the first boss, let me tell you something, 2 out of 5 times I killed the boss in 1 second and was sitting there for the longest time with boss music with no boss and no enemies. I don’t know if this is some sort of glitch, but it could harm the outlook of sales on this title. The fact that there is a continue option in the game serves absolutely no purpose, say you’re on the second level and you lose all of your lives halfway through, you choose continue and are immediately brought back to the first level, this infuriated me to no end. I want to love this game, maybe it is my love for dragons, like some others loving zombies, in this case I love dragons. Right now until the game gets a fix it will sit at a 2.9 out of 5, I promise to revisit this title in the future when the developer gives me the heads up.

Orbitron: Revolution
Orbitron: Revolution I remember seeing this title in the DBP 2011 as one of the entrants, I wanted to cover this title since I first saw the trailer, and so I am, today. This game is visually stunning and deserves a lot more than just a one themed level. The one themed level really isn’t a problem with the game, there are 3 different game modes to choose from, 1 of them you can unlock by surviving 5 minutes in Guardian mode. You have a choice of 2 ships, I found them to have absolutely nothing different between them but the visuals.  You have power up weapons which can usually clear a line of enemies in one hit, in order to obtain these powers ups, you must collect power cores that you receive while destroying an enemy.  I really admired the controls in the game, but felt something was missing as I had brought attention that moving left and right while an enemy is near you was like suicide, I sent feedback for the title to have a stay left/right function while holding LT so you didn’t have to do a whole U-Turn to face your next enemy. The game is tough as nails if you’re not use to the shmup genre.  I love the very upbeat soundtrack, it seemed to hypnotize me into playing more, although I was already finished with what I have completed.  I am one of those people who are 50/50 on shmups, I found this game super fun, exhilarating and filled with lots of flashy lights.   Altogether this title gets a 4.5 out of 5.

Start or join the discussion!

