Indie Games, where the heart and soul is!

Indies at First Sight: Platform Hack and Four Winds Fantasy


Click each Box Art to be brought the Market Link
Platform Hack:

Let me start off by saying I was impressed by the trailer, but as I stepped into the game, my opinion changed very quick. You start off on an easy foot, with a sword. There is some dialog which is way too expansive for a platformer, so just skip the chit-chat and jump into to gameplay. As far as I have gotten into the game to give my first insight, I had reached some ice looking level with crows and spider enemies. The second weapon you unlock is a gun, which is the worst weapon in the game. I say this because when you try to aim above, you can accidentally fall off the edge if you’re not paying attention. I would have liked to see some sort of controlling aspect while shooting, like holding LT so you don’t start moving uncontrollably. Another problem was when on a higher platform, the only way you can drop down is to jump down, I would have like to see a “Press Down and A” Feature, just so I don’t end up in a pit of enemies. This being said, I will visit the title later on. Right now, it’s a 2.5 out 5. The title needs a major control scheme update.

Four Winds Fantasy:

I immediately facepalmed at the main menu. I haven’t really seen such a title badly drawn in my life. It seems as though this was intentional. The game sort of reminds me if the Squidbillies made an RPG. Note, there are no Squidbillies in this game, sorry to disappoint. I really did not understand any point of this game, the only thing that kept my attention was the very bad dialog, the badly drawn character art, and you know what, that’s about it. I really can not make any recommendation to this game. I would have my daughter possibly play it, she won’t understand the badly drawn characters, she’s only 2. I would rather go play Sissy’s Magical Ponycorn Adventure than this piece of crap. Sorry to say, but if the quality isn’t up to par, then you shouldn’t release it. This is absolutely unacceptable for a first title made by a first time developer. Let the interwebs know that this game should not even have the name Four Winds, as it is also a Psychiatric Hospital in my Area. This game ranks at a low 1.5 out of 5.

2 responses

  1. I was play-testing Four Winds Fantasy. I like music there and the graphics is so bad that I like it. I thing that this game has some special feeling :-D… however I don’t understand the point of this game 🙂

    October 25, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    • Neither did I. Still confused.

      October 25, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Start or join the discussion!

