Indie Games, where the heart and soul is!

30 Half-Minute Hero: Super Mega Neo Climax XBLA Review


Click Banner to be Brought to Market Link

 
Review by: Master Blud
Save the world in 30 seconds, or not. I do not favor too many RPGs, actually as many know that RPGs are my weak point. So I will try to give as much perspective as I can, while I try to tell you my experience with the game. 30 half-minute Hero: Super Mega Neo Climax is an absolute mouthful, and so is the game. You play as the “Hero” who is destined to save the world in only 30 seconds, hence the name. You gather people along the way to help you, enter towns, buy items to help you on your journey. The whole entire game is pieces of l adventures which you have to bide your time in 30 seconds to get an evil overlord about to destroy the world. With the help of a “Time Goddess”, you must pray to her if you haven’t reached the castle in the 30 seconds you were given.

This title is certainly hyper active, and requires your complete attention. So far the game has not been boring to me, but aggravating non the less. I had fun playing what could have been a boring RPG, but oh well what are you going to do when someone tells you that they want their sandwich now, not 30 seconds ago. The gameplay is pretty in-depth as it’s going to be, although I really didn’t pay too much attention to the dialog, but when the “Time Goddess” Spoke, I listened, heads up, she takes all your stuff in trade for time if you don’t have enough cash. As for controlling the game, all you do is run, run, drink potion, run away, run, kill boss, and end credits. Rinse and Repeat.

As for the visuals, there really isn’t much to the game. You do however have a choice to have enhanced graphics, which makes it look like an episode of Adventure Time on Cartoon Network, or you can choose the Retro mode which will show everything in “BIT” Form. I like the retro feeling, it is suitable for this game. At some points the game looks to feel a little choppy when you are going through the world to reach your destination, I don’t know if this is a problem with the sprites or the controls, either way it made me a little angry not turning on the bridge at the right time. The battle scenes are just hilarious and don’t make any sense whatsoever, as I said before controlling the game is just that easy, yet the only issue is turning at the right time. Now on to the audible department, I can’t seem to get the songs out of my head, probably one of the main reasons why I even kept playing. The game has an epic soundtrack, wonderful sound effects that just grab your attention.


Final Thought:
I hated this game the first time I played it, being that I am weak to RPGs. I found my self completely satisfied with my end results, the game is confusing at first if you don’t like RPGs, but you will soon understand how everything works. I honestly I have to give my final rating a 4 out of 5, that’s pretty good score for someone who shivers at the word RPG. Thus in the end, I loved the game, despite my complaints of having it be so hectic.

Start or join the discussion!

